Palo Alto Networks Knowledgebase: What is the difference between saving and committing a config?

What is the difference between saving and committing a config?

7208
Created On 02/07/19 23:44 PM - Last Updated 02/07/19 23:45 PM
Resolution

Overview

Saving a config change is basically saving the xml configuration to a file.  It doesn't apply the changes into the current config.
Commit is basically save and apply the changes.

You always need to commit the configuration change to see the effect of the change. If the changes are incorrect, do the following to revert to a previous config;

  • Go to Device tab.
  • Click load config version. A scroll down list with timestamp when the last commit was done is displayed.
  • Load your previous config.
  • Make sure to commit it

owner: panagent



Attachments
Actions
  • Print
  • Copy Link

    https://knowledgebase.paloaltonetworks.com/KCSArticleDetail?id=kA10g000000ClrmCAC&refURL=http%3A%2F%2Fknowledgebase.paloaltonetworks.com%2FKCSArticleDetail

Attachments
Choose Language